Telangana CM KCR announces Rs 2.25 cr for Param Veer Chakra recipients

he Telangana State government will give a cash reward of Rs 2.25 cr to any army personnel from Telangana who receives the Param Veer Chakra and Ashok Chakra. This will be the highest cash reward that is being by any state government for the recipients.

Chief minister K Chandrasekhar Rao announced in the assembly on Tuesday that for the first time in the country, TS wase creating a Fund for the Army Welfare. and collect Rs 80 Core towards the Fund. This Fund will be spent on the welfare of the Army personnel and their families. The Chief Minister and ministers will contribute Rs 25,000 per year, MLAs, MLCs and MPs will contribute Rs 10,000 each per year. The employees have decided to forgo their one day's wages.
The army widows are eligible for one pension only either from the centre or the State government but it Telangana the double pension scheme to the retired army personnel and army widows.

Pointing out that the Centre and State government's were giving cash rewards to the personnel who receive the gallantry awards such as Param Vir Chakra, Mahavir Chakra, Veer Chakra, Ashok Chakra, Kirti Chakra, Sourya Chakra, and Sena Medal, KCR said the Telangana State government had decided to give a substantial cash award to the gallantry awardees much more than that is being offered in other States.

 The Punjab government gives Rs 2 Cr as cash award to recipients of Param Vir Chakra and Ashhok Chakra. The United AP government had announced Rs 10 Lakh each for the same award. "Now we have decided to pay Rs 2.25 Cr to the Telangana Army personnel who get these awards. For Mahavir Chakra and Kirti Chakra awardees, the Punjab government is giving Rs 1 crore each which is the highest in the country. United AP used to give Rs 8 Lakh. The Telangana government will give Rs 1.25 Cr each to the Army Personnel from the State who get these awards," he said.

For Vir Chakra and Sourya Chakra awards, the Punjab government gives Rs 50 Lakh, each which is so far the highest in the country. The United AP used to give Rs 6 Lakh. KCR said Telangana government would give Rs 75 Lakh each for these awardees. For sena Medal awardees, the Haryana government gives the highest amount of Rs 21 Lakh each and in United AP the amount was Rs 23,500 only. Telangana State will give Rs 30 Lakh.
 Similarly, for mention in dispatches awardees, Punjab and Haryana governments give Rs 10 Lakh each while in United AP it was Rs 12,000 each. The Telangana State government has decided to give Rs 25 lakh per awardee.

For the Athi Visishta Seva medal, the cash award per awardee in Kerala is Rs 20 Lakh in United AP it was Rs 27,000 and now in TS it will be Rs 25 lakh. For Visishta Seva Medal, the cash award in Kerala is Rs 16 Lakh, in United AP it was Rs 75,000, in TS it will be Rs 20 Lakh. For Seva medal Kerala is giving Rs 2 Lakh, United AP Rs 34,000 and in TS it will be 5 Lakh.

source :